NJ Driving Without Insurance Violation Lawyer (N.J.S.A. 39:6B-1)

Experienced Lawyer fighting Driving Without Insurance Tickets throughout Bergen, Hudson and Essex County, New Jersey.

It is a traffic offense in New Jersey to operate a vehicle without motor vehicle insurance. New Jersey has strict penalties for operating an uninsured vehicle. A violation of the law will result in mandatory penalties, such as a fine, a loss of a driver’s license, a period of community service, and imprisonment if it is a subsequent offense.

Insurance Coverage Requirement

New Jersey statute (N.J.S.A. 39:6B-1) requires the owner or the registered owner of a vehicle that is registered or garaged in the state to have liability insurance on the vehicle. A person must have insurance coverage for bodily injury, death, or property damage in the following minimum amounts:

  • $15,000 for the injury or death of one person in one accident
  • $30,000 for the injury or death of more than one person in one accident
  • $5,000 for property damage sustained in one accident

Penalty for Driving Without Insurance

A person—an owner, a registered owner, or any driver that operates a motor vehicle or causes a motor vehicle to be operated and knows or should know from the circumstances that the vehicle is not covered by liability insurance—is subject to the following penalties (N.J.S.A 39:6B-2):

First Offense:

  • A fine of no less than $300 but no more than $1,000
  • A period of community service to be determined by the court
  • Loss of a driver’s license for a period of one year from the date of conviction

Subsequent Offenses:

  • A fine of up to $5,000
  • Imprisonment for a term of 14 days
  • A period of community service for 30 days
  • Loss of a driver’s license for a period of two years from the date of conviction, and at which time of the expiration, the person may make an application to the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles for a license to operate a vehicle, which will be granted at the discretion of the director.

At trial, the failure to produce evidence of insurance coverage showing that it was in force at the time of the charged offense will create a rebuttable presumption that the driver was uninsured at the time charged with the violation.

If you have been charged with a serious traffic offense, such as operating a vehicle without liability insurance, contact a New Jersey traffic offense attorney at The Cintron Firm at (201) 791-1333.

The Cintron Firm has locations in Ridgefield Park, New Brunswick, Montclair, and Totowa and serve the following New Jersey cities and counties: Morris County, Essex County, Bergen County, Passaic County, Englewood Cliffs, Ridgewood, Little Falls, Paramus, Paterson, Wayne, Lincoln Park, Hackensack, Lodi, Passaic, Cliffside Park, Caldwell, Belleville, Union City, East Orange, Newark, Union, Elizabeth, Irvington, Brunswick, Byram, Denville and Rockaway.

© 2024 The Cintron Firm, LLC
167 Main Street, First Floor, Ridgefield Park, NJ 07660
| Phone: 917-494-5695
24 Kirkpatrick Street, New Brunswick, NJ 08903
| Phone: 917-494-5695
26 Park Street, Suite 2000, Montclair, NJ 07042
| Phone: 917-494-5695
547 Union Boulevard, Totowa, NJ 07512
| Phone: 917-494-5695

DWI/DUI Defense | Traffic Offenses | Criminal Defense | Frequently Asked Questions | Articles | En Español | Law Library